5.0.4 and PvP gearing

It was a rude surprise for me when I logged in to find my PvP gear nerfed. All the Cataclysmic gear was nerfed from 397 to 384. Having Cataclysmic gear that I had to work for downgraded to raid finder level gear didn’t feel too nice. This is different from Cataclysmic gear becoming easier to get, this is about good gear being nerfed more than half a tier. I was at 153K health unbuffed, and post patch in the same gear I am 138K. My equipped ilvl was 402, it was now down to 389. So all in all, it didn’t feel nice. But what can you do, you have to adapt and roll with it.

Going into BGs my damage didn’t feel competitive. And people rocking 397/403/legendary weapons had gotten no such nerf to their damage output and while their weapons lacked resilience, they more than compensated with offensive stats.

Right now, in my opinion, if you want to decimate a battleground, you’re best off wearing your best PvP gear with heroic PvE weapons.

I present to you three exhibits.

My 2H PvP axe in 4.3

And this is what it became after 5.0.4

Don’t compare weapon damage – that was adjusted for all weapons with this patch for a different formula. Instead, look at the STR/STAM/resil differences for an idea of stat budgets. This is a pretty savage nerf to PVP gear.

So last night, I was lucky enough to get a Gurthalak (2H sword from Madness, ilvl 403). And here is what it looks like.

This sword hits very very hard. The snaring proc is awesome for PvP too.

PvP weapons have no PvP power (in Cata, however this changes in Mists) on them and we’re already awash in resilience. As a damage dealer, you want to focus on damage output once your basic survivability needs are taken care of. Ditto for healers, you want to get enough resilience to ensure you don’t get one shot. After that, you want to focus on PvP power because it also buffs your healing in PvP zones.

Thoughts on gemming PvP power instead of STR/INT/AGI

Right now, I do 24.23%  extra damage against players and I have 1917 points in PvP Power.

Assuming no DR and a linear scale, this means, each point of PvP Power gives 0.0126% (rounded up) extra damage. I have 10 sockets on my gear with a mix of str/crit gems in them. If I get epic PvP Power gems in there, that is an extra 500 PvP Power which translates into 6.32% more damage against players. Unlike strength, this damage is countering resilience and makes my remaining STR/AP more valuable.

Although I do not have specific numbers for how much damage each point in STR adds, I do think that with the super high resilience everyone has, PvP Power is the most important stat to gem/enchant for whether you are a healer or a DPS. A prot set intended purely for flag carrying may be better when gemmed for full resilience but if you share a set for damage and flag carrying, I’d suggest gemming for PvP Power.

+50 PVP Power gems (Stormy Deepholm Iolite) or +40 PVP Power gems (Stormy Ocean Sapphire) are both a LOT cheaper than equivalent red gems. So if you’re gearing an alt for PvP right now, I recommend going for these gems over the red primary stat gems. This also makes me think blue gems aren’t going to be utterly worthless in Mists. 🙂

Please let me know your thoughts in the comments.

3 thoughts on “5.0.4 and PvP gearing

  1. Erinys

    As a holy priest I had great fun this morning. In small scale pvp (i.e 3 to 4 versus 3 to 4) renew + holy word: serenity + circle of healing was enough to keep myself and my party alive. In bigger skirmishes, I needed to cast more but with new water didn’t find mana to be an issue at all. Need to play a few more games but definitely feel that healing is in a better place than it was in the pre-cata run up.

    Husband playing a rogue had great fun getting 50k crits on undergeared people and generally being a pest. In one IoC he went workshop solo to slow down their cap and managed 500k of damage before dying, not bad considering that vast majority of their team were trying to kill him.

    Reply
  2. Navimie

    I didn’t know it went down till you told me. Shows you how observant I am… might try changing weapons but Damn I like having a staff… don’t wanna do main/off

    Reply

Leave a Reply

